The Mastersingers of Nuremberg

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Live from the Bayreuth Festival

On July 25, the Bayreuth Festival opened with a new production of "Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg". The Swiss conductor Philippe Jordan was in charge of the musical direction. The production was directed by Barrie Kosky, artistic director and chief director of the Komische Oper Berlin.

Before and after the opera and during the one-hour intermissions, music journalist and Wagner expert Axel Brüggemann hosted the four-hour program "Bayreuth - The Show," live from the Grüner Hügel.

The longtime Bayreuth connoisseur reports from the red carpet. He discussed Richard Wagner, his music and his life with prominent guests and the artists. He also took a look behind the scenes of the world-famous festival and showed it from a completely unorthodox perspective.

Brüggemann welcomed musician and presenter Ina Müller, singer Jasper, comedians Thomas Hermanns and Wigald Boning, soccer expert and opera fan Fritz von Thurn und Taxis, Dr. Sven Friedrich, director of the Richard Wagner Museum Bayreuth, as well as singers René Pape, Stefan Vinke, Nadine Weissmann and Camilla Nylund, who performed in various Bayreuth Festival productions this summer.

After the end of the live opera broadcast, Bayreuth's mayor Brigitte Merk-Erbe and participants in the new "Meistersinger" production joined Brüggemann in the studio: director Barrie Kosky and singers Anette Schwanewilms, Klaus Florian Vogt, Michael Volle and Johannes Martin Kränzle.

Awards
Nomination for the Grimme Award 2018 in the category "Information and Culture Special"
Show
495 minutes
Script
Matthias Greving
Axel Brüggemann
Lena Döring
Director
Lorenz Graßl
Editing
Marco Kies
David Kasperowski
Christoph Dobbitsch
Frank Simon
Camera
Volker Striemer
Production
Bjoern Behr
Broadcaster
Sky Arts HD
Production Manager
Matthias Greving
Line producer
Bjoern Behr

»Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg«

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
Live von den Bayreuther Festspielen

Am 25. Juli eröffneten die Bayreuther Festspiele mit einer neuen Produktion von "Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg". Die musikalische Leitung hatte der schweizerische Dirigent Philippe Jordan. Regie führte Barrie Kosky, Intendant und Chefregisseur der Komischen Oper Berlin.

Vor und nach der Oper und in den einstündigen Pausen moderierte der Musikjournalist und Wagner-Experte Axel Brüggemann das insgesamt vierstündige Programm "Bayreuth – Die Show", live vom Grünen Hügel.

Der langjährige Bayreuth-Kenner berichtet vom roten Teppich. Mit prominenten Gästen und den Künstlern diskutierte er über Richard Wagner, seine Musik und sein Leben. Außerdem warf er einen Blick hinter die Kulissen der weltberühmten Festspiele und zeigte sie aus einer gänzlich unorthodoxen Perspektive.

Als Talk-Gäste begrüßte Brüggemann die Musikerin und Moderatorin Ina Müller, den Sänger Jasper, die Comedians Thomas Hermanns und Wigald Boning, den Fußball-Experten und Opern-Fan Fritz von Thurn und Taxis, Dr. Sven Friedrich, Direktor des Richard-Wagner-Museums Bayreuth, sowie die Sänger René Pape, Stefan Vinke, Nadine Weissmann und Camilla Nylund, die diesen Sommer in verschiedenen Produktionen der Bayreuther Festspiele mitwirkten.

Nach dem Ende der Opern-Live-Übertragung kamen Bayreuths Bürgermeisterin Brigitte Merk-Erbe und Mitwirkende der neuen "Meistersinger"-Produktion zu Brüggemann ins Studio: Regisseur Barrie Kosky und die Sänger Anette Schwanewilms, Klaus Florian Vogt, Michael Volle und Johannes Martin Kränzle.

25. Februar 2018 um 20:15 Uhr Sky Arts HD
Show
495 Minuten
Sender
Sky Arts HD