David Garrett - A world star privately

The documentary by Cordula Kablitz-Post portrays both the classical and the crossover artist David Garrett. Among other scenes, excerpts from the concert in the Baths of Caracalla in Rome, which is one of the highlights of his tour this year, can be seen.

Star violinist David Garrett is now over 40 years old. The former classical music prodigy not only fills concert halls, but also delights millions of fans worldwide with his own musical arrangements and polished stage shows. It's a hard-earned success that comes with many hardships, starting in childhood, the desire for artistic recognition and the search for self.

In the middle of his life, Garrett draws a first, very personal summary. How did he become who he is today? What is his relationship with his parents, especially his father, who drilled him on the violin? Who does he trust today? How does he deal with the fact that hardcore classical musicians turn up their noses at his name?

The curse and blessing of global success, but also the many facets of David Garrett as a person, become clear.  The documentary shows David Garrett more openly and privately than ever before. He opens his archive to previously unpublished video material. The most important stations of his life are visited and companions, friends and family tell their stories. Whether in New York, where the turning point of his life took place, in Amsterdam during intensive studio recordings, in Berlin, the city of his childhood, or on Mallorca, where he seeks relaxation.

There will also be excerpts from the concert at the Caracalla Baths in Rome, which is one of the highlights of his tour this year.  There is even more of this concert on ARTE following the documentary.

Screening dates
21. August 2022, arte
Documentary
Completed
52 minutes
Script
Cordula Kablitz-Post
Director
Cordula Kablitz-Post
Editing
Lars Billert
Camera
Ulf Behrens
Chris Rowe
Broadcaster
ZDF/arte
Producer
Matthias Greving
Kirsten Lukaczik
Sound
Max Bartusch
Line producer
Michael von Wolfframsdorff (Koordination)

David Garrett - Ein Weltstar privat

Die Dokumentation von Cordula Kablitz-Post porträtiert sowohl den Klassik- als auch den Crossover-Künstler David Garrett. Zu sehen sind unter anderem Ausschnitte vom Konzert in den Caracalla-Thermen in Rom, das zu den Highlights seiner diesjährigen Tour zählt.

Stargeiger David Garrett ist jetzt über 40 Jahre alt. Das ehemalige Klassik-Wunderkind füllt nicht nur Konzerthäuser, sondern begeistert mit eigenen musikalischen Arrangements und ausgefeilten Bühnenshows Millionen Fans weltweit. Ein hart erarbeiteter Erfolg, der mit vielen Entbehrungen, bereits in der Kindheit, dem Wunsch nach künstlerischer Anerkennung und der Suche nach dem Selbst verbunden ist.


In der Mitte seines Lebens zieht Garrett ein erstes, sehr persönliches Resümee. Wie ist er zu dem geworden, der er heute ist? Wie ist das Verhältnis zu seinen Eltern, speziell seinem Vater, der ihn an der Geige gedrillt hat? Wem vertraut er heute? Wie geht er damit um, dass Hardcore-Klassiker bei seinem Namen die Nase rümpfen?


Dabei werden Fluch und Segen des Welterfolgs, aber auch die vielen Facetten des Menschen David Garrett deutlich.  Die Dokumentation zeigt David Garrett offen und privat wie nie. Dafür öffnet er sein Archiv zu bislang unveröffentlichtem Videomaterial. Die wichtigsten Stationen seines Lebens werden angesteuert und Wegbegleiter, Freunde und Familie erzählen. Ob in New York, wo der Wendepunkt seines Lebens stattfand, in Amsterdam bei intensiven Studioaufnahmen, in Berlin, der Stadt seiner Kindheit, oder auf Mallorca, wo er Entspannung sucht.

Es werden auch Ausschnitte des Konzerts in den Caracalla-Thermen in Rom gezeigt, das zu den Highlights seiner diesjährigen Tour zählt.  Noch mehr von diesem Konzert gibt es bei ARTE im Anschluss an die Dokumentation.

Sendetermine
21. August 2022, arte
Dokumentarfilm
Fertiggestellt
52 Minuten
Drehbuch
Cordula Kablitz-Post
Regie
Cordula Kablitz-Post
Schnitt
Lars Billert
Kamera
Ulf Behrens
Chris Rowe
Sender
ZDF/arte
Produzent
Matthias Greving
Kirsten Lukaczik
Ton
Max Bartusch
Producer
Michael von Wolfframsdorff (Koordination)