CORRUPTION AND HOUSING - THE END OF THE NEUE HEIMAT

It was one of the biggest scandals in the Federal Republic of Germany. Of all things, the bosses of Neue Heimat, a union-owned construction company, had been lining their own pockets. It was a shock for ordinary union members.

By 1982, Neue Heimat was the largest construction group in Europe, with headquarters in Hamburg and branches in all major cities. The Group played a decisive role in alleviating the housing misery in post-war Germany. It provided a decisive impetus for urban development in the 1960s and 1970s. The Neue Vahr in Bremen, Neuperlach in Munich, congress centers in Berlin and Hamburg, the clinic in Aachen, the university in Göttingen. The list of Neue Heimat buildings and satellite towns is endless. Or, as historian Peter Kramper puts it, "They built everything in Germany that was big and visible, not to mention ugly." In Munich Neuperlach alone, Neue Heimat built apartments for 70,000 people in one fell swoop - an entire city!

Neue Heimat collected many millions of marks in tax money from cities and municipalities because the group was a non-profit organization. In the end, the group owned almost 400,000 apartments, as many as the Vonovia housing group today. In its best days, Neue Heimat had an annual turnover of over five billion marks. Nevertheless, Neue Heimat was almost bankrupt in 1982, because the managers were not only corrupt, they had also thoroughly speculated. They had overlooked the fact that the German housing market was saturated from the mid-1970s onward, and for years they built past demand. Several of their gigantic housing projects ended up as rotten social hotspots that were later even demolished.

In the end, the unions had to sell off Neue Heimat piece by piece and, as a result of the scandal, lost not only the apartments but also their bank, their insurance company Volksfürsorge and the purchasing cooperative Co-op. The utopia of a fairer way of doing business was abolished, almost unnoticed by the public, and in 1990 the Kohl government also eliminated the law on non-profit housing. The Radio Bremen documentary by Susanne Brahms and Rainer Krause traces the rise and fall of Neue Heimat and also poses the question of the consequences for the housing market to this day.

Screening dates
13.01.2020
Documentary
43 minutes
Director
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Editing
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Camera
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Production
Kinescope Film GmbH
Broadcaster
ARD
Music
Carsten Rocker
Editorial Staff
Michaela Herold
Line producer
Matthias Greving
Janina Sara Hennemann

Korruption und Wohnungsbau - Das Ende der Neuen Heimat

Es war einer der größten Skandale der Bundesrepublik. Ausgerechnet die Bosse der Neuen Heimat, eines Baukonzerns in Gewerkschaftshand, hatten in die eigene Tasche gewirtschaftet. Ein Schock für einfache Gewerkschaftsmitglieder.

Bis 1982 war die  Neue Heimat der größte Baukonzern Europas mit Sitz in Hamburg und Filialen in allen größeren Städten. Der Konzern hat entscheidend dazu beigetragen, das Wohnungselend im Nachkriegsdeutschland zu lindern. Er gab entscheidende Impulse für den Städtebau der 1960er und 1970er Jahre. Die Neue Vahr in Bremen, Neuperlach in München, Kongresszentren in Berlin und Hamburg, das Klinikum in Aachen, die Uni in Göttingen. Die Liste der Bauwerke und Trabantenstädte der Neuen Heimat ist endlos. Oder, wie es der Historiker Peter Kramper formuliert: „Sie haben in Deutschland alles gebaut, was groß und sichtbar ist, um nicht zu sagen: hässlich.“ Allein in München Neuperlach baute die Neue Heimat  auf einen Schlag Wohnungen für 70.000 Menschen - eine ganze Stadt!
Die Neue Heimat kassierte  viele Millionen Mark Steuergelder von Städten und Gemeinden, weil der Konzern gemeinnützig war. Am Ende besaß der Konzern fast 400.000 Wohnungen, so viel wie heute etwa der Wohnungskonzern Vonovia. Die Neue Heimat machte in den besten Zeiten einen Jahresumsatz von über fünf Milliarden Mark. Trotzdem war die Neue Heimat 1982 nahezu pleite, denn die Manager waren nicht nur korrupt, sie hatten sich auch noch gründlich verspekuliert. Sie hatten übersehen, dass der deutsche Wohnungsmarkt ab Mitte der 1970er gesättigt war und bauten jahrelang am Bedarf vorbei. Etliche ihrer gigantischen Siedlungsprojekte endeten als vergammelte soziale Brennpunkte, die später sogar abgerissen wurden. 
Die Gewerkschaften mussten am Ende die Neue Heimat stückweise verkaufen und verloren in Folge des Skandals nicht nur die Wohnungen, sondern auch ihre Bank, ihre Versicherung Volksfürsorge und die Einkaufsgenossenschaft Co-op. Die Utopie von der gerechteren Art des Wirtschaftens wurde, fast unbemerkt von der Öffentlichkeit, abgeschafft, 1990 beseitigte die Kohl-Regierung auch noch das Gesetz zur Gemeinnützigkeit im Wohnungsbau. Die Radio-Bremen Dokumentation von Susanne Brahms und Rainer Krause zeichnet Aufstieg und Fall der Neuen Heimat nach und stellt auch die Frage nach den Folgen für den Wohnungsmarkt bis heute. 

13.01.2020
Dokumentarfilm
43 Minuten
Regie
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Produktion
Kinescope Film GmbH
Producer
Matthias Greving
Janina Sara Hennemann
Kamera
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Schnitt
Susanne Brahms
Rainer Krause
Musik
Carsten Rocker
Sender
ARD
Redaktion
Michaela Herold