THE BND FILE: ARMS DEALS BY GERMAN SHIPOWNERS

The Story in the First

After seven years of research into arms deals by German shipowners, the "Story im Ersten" team led by author Rainer Kahrs is given a secret volume of documents. The documents prove: The German secret service BND is heavily involved in arms shipments to the world's crisis and war zones.

The operations are top secret and run quietly. Past the responsible federal authorities, in the blind spot of the Foreign Trade and Payments Act and the War Weapons Control Act. Shipment does not take place in Germany, but via a secret port in Ukraine, which is not shown on any map. The investigation leads to Kyiv. The former president of Ukraine confirms the existence of the port and the "delicate" arms deal. In this "Story im Ersten," his foreign intelligence chief admits for the first time to the involvement of German shipping companies in the shipment of war weapons via Ukraine and provides the "Story im Ersten" team with the first and only television images of the secret port.

Research in the USA yields further and alarming clues. American satellite images show the port where heavy-lift freighters load tanks, howitzers, and other war equipment. Ships from at least two German shipping companies are involved.

The bundle of secret documents primarily incriminates the former world market leader in the heavy-lift cargo business, the consequently defunct Beluga shipping company based in Bremen. Four Beluga ships are explicitly named. Loading lists and stowage plans show that the shipping company repeatedly planned and carried out war weapons transports.

 

© Kinescope Film GmbH / Radio Bremen

Documentary
45 minutes
Script
Rainer Kahrs
Director
Rainer Kahrs
Editing
Tom Lehnhart
Camera
Torben Müller
William Dubas
Lür Wangenheim
Production
Matthias Greving
Postproduction
Andreas Hellmanzik
Cine Complete GmbH
Music
André Feldhaus
Sound
Bea Müller
Marina Schnieders
Gerald Hentschel
Helge Schröder
Editorial Staff
Thomas von Bötticher
Line producer
Janina Sara Hennemann
Graphic design
Oliver Kurth
Color Grading
Andreas Hellmanzik
Mastering
Cine Complete GmbH
Funding
Nordmedia - Film- und Mediengesellschaft Niedersachsen und Bremen mbH

Die Akte BND: Waffengeschäfte deutscher Reeder

Die Story im Ersten

Nach sieben Jahren Recherche zu Waffengeschäften deutscher Reeder wird dem "Story im Ersten"-Team um Autor Rainer Kahrs ein geheimes Konvolut zugespielt. Die Dokumente beweisen: Der deutsche Geheimdienst BND ist in Waffentransporte in die Krisen- und Kriegsgebiete dieser Welt stark involviert.

Die Operationen sind streng geheim, verlaufen im Stillen. Vorbei an den zuständigen Bundesbehörden, im toten Winkel von Außenwirtschaftsgesetz und Kriegswaffenkontrollgesetz. Verschifft wird nicht in Deutschland, sondern über einen geheimen Hafen in der Ukraine, der auf keiner Karte verzeichnet ist. Die Recherche führt nach Kiew. Der ehemalige Präsident der Ukraine bestätigt die Existenz des Hafens und des "delikaten" Waffengeschäfts. Sein Auslands-Geheimdienstchef räumt in dieser "Story im Ersten" erstmals eine Beteiligung deutscher Reedereien an der Kriegswaffenverschiffung über die Ukraine ein und vermittelt dem "Story im Ersten"-Team die ersten und einzigen Fernsehbilder des geheimen Hafens.

Recherchen in den USA ergeben weitere und alarmierende Hinweise. Amerikanische Satellitenbilder zeigen den Hafen, in dem Schwergutfrachter Panzer, Haubitzen und anderes Kriegsgerät laden. Schiffe von mindestens zwei deutschen Reedereien sind beteiligt.

Das Konvolut geheimer Dokumente belastet vor allem den ehemaligen Weltmarktführer im Schwergutgeschäft, die mithin erloschene Beluga-Reederei mit Sitz in Bremen. Vier Beluga-Schiffe werden explizit genannt. Ladelisten und Staupläne zeigen, dass die Reederei immer wieder Kriegswaffentransporte plant und durchführt.

© Kinescope Film GmbH / Radio Bremen

Dokumentarfilm
45 Minuten
Regie
Rainer Kahrs
Drehbuch
Rainer Kahrs
Produktion
Matthias Greving
Producer
Janina Sara Hennemann
Postproduktion
Andreas Hellmanzik
Kamera
Torben Müller
William Dubas
Lür Wangenheim
Schnitt
Tom Lehnhart
Ton
Bea Müller
Marina Schnieders
Gerald Hentschel
Helge Schröder
Musik
André Feldhaus
Grafik
Oliver Kurth
Redaktion
Thomas von Bötticher
Förderung
Nordmedia - Film- und Mediengesellschaft Niedersachsen und Bremen mbH